Tolerance

Tolerance is not approval.  What the world today is looking for is approval, not tolerance.  They have confused the two.

Tolerance is not saying that what someone does is ok, because some things just aren’t ok.  Tolerance is not saying that someone is right, because they could be wrong.  Tolerance is not saying that truth is relative, because we all know that lies abound. 

To cry for tolerance is intolerant.  It seems that those who say that Christianity is intolerant, are not themselves tolerant, by their own definition.  A definition that they themselves have defined.

As Christians we should be tolerant of what others believe, but that does not mean we should stamp it with our seal of approval.  There is a difference.  I can certainly appreciate and listen to differing points of views on religion, but I believe strongly that there is only one way to heaven.  That way is through Jesus the Christ.  God’s only begotten son.  The way (to heaven),  the (only) TRUTH, and the life. 

You are free to believe otherwise – a lie if you will, and I will respect you for your decision.  But please tolerate my position to respectfully say that you are wrong!

(As you have already said of my position!)

2 thoughts on “Tolerance

  1. Again, Heretic, we are in the same chior.

    Of course, I think it is fair to look at this from both sides:

    1. Yes, many people, Americans especially, are trained to be “tolerant” of all sorts of things, just not Christianity. The only evil is to call something evil. While political correctness (and even “Christian” open theism) says we must consider all religions as equal and valid paths to God(s), Chirstianity can not co-exist with other religions in this way, by definition. If there were more than one path, that really cheapens the whole cross thing. What would be the point?

    2. Unfortuntely, I must also include here those inside the Church, who may see me having lunch with a gay man “approval” for his lifestyle instead of “tolerance”. How are we to minister to the sick, as Christ did, if we must see any interaction with any individual as a full endorsement of everthing he or she does? Can I also not eat with anyone divorced? Are we not all sinners? I would never tell a homosoexual (just using it as an example) that such a lifestyle is “OK”. I would simply be willing to speak with him or her as a human being instead of demanding one become fully clean before they are allowed to BEGIN a relationship with Christ.

    God loves us just the way we are, but loves us way too much to let us stay that way.

  2. Normal every day interaction is normal every day interaction. What the word of God does not accept is going in the way of evil, associating with evil for evil sake. If we avoided everyone, then we would have to question everyone as to what their lives were made up off, and so we would end up as hermits.

    There are some associations, within daily live, and work, that you must not have anything to do with, and not to just turn a blind eye, because that is wicked, a wicked practice, that allows evil to progress.

    Example. Went to work for an employer and found out that my boss was a child molester, I refused to work for him, withstood him to his face, and resigned, informing him that if I did not resign I would end up putting him in the local hospital. On the other hand I have worked amongst some strange, immoral people, whom I have argued with over their morals, putting them straight that I for one disagree with them, and such have taken what I have said and actually thanked me for my stand.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.